About Us


The majority of Australians believe that a person suffering from a terminal illness is entitled to effective treatment of symptoms and should be able to make key decisions about when and how they die.

This majority of about 85% – demonstrated by numerous polls over the last two decades – supports the enactment of legislative change to enable the right to choose the timing and circumstances of one’s death, and to ensure that members of the medical profession and other health carers are not at risk of criminal charges in providing end-of-life assistance.
We remain grateful to our wonderful ambassadors who have assisted in the successful campaign to enact Voluntary Assisted Dying laws in Victoria, and who continue to act as advocates and supporters.
Mr Phillip AdamsMs Yvonne AllenMs Lynette Allison
Prof Dennis Altman AMMs Valma Angliss AMMs Bettina Arndt
Rev Gordon BannonMr Greg BarnsProf Peter Baume AC
Ms Layne BeachleyDavid Beanland AOMs Frances Bedford MP JP
Mr John Bell AOMr Casey BennettoRev Trevor Bensch
Dr Edward BrentnallMr Bob BrownMr Julian Burnside AO QC
Ms Susie ByrneDr Leslie CannoldDr Nick Carr
Prof Lyn CarsonMrs Shirley CassMs Tricia Caswell
Prof Simon ChapmanThe Hon Robin ChappleThe Hon Stephen Charles QC
Emeritus Prof Alf ClarkMr Everald ComptonMr Peter Couchman
Prof Nick CroftsMr Peter Cundall AMMs Natasha Darke
Mr Kenneth DavidsonRev Dr Craig De VosCatherine Deveny
The Hon John Dowd AO QCProf Gary W DowsettDr Ilsa Evans
The Hon Gareth EvansThe Hon Elizabeth Evatt ACDr June Factor
Prof Ross Fitzgerald AMMs Tamara FraserMr Patrick Galvin AM
Mr Max Gillies AMMr Brian GoldsmithMs Sandy Gore
Mr John GreenwellDr Julian HafnerThe Hon George Hampel AM QC
Mr Peter HardhamMr Robert HewettMs Janet Holmes A Court AC
Mr David HumeMrs Maya HumeDr David Hunt
Dr Roger HuntDr Warren Frederick Johnson AMDr Rosemary Jones
The Hon Sandra KanckMr David KellyMr Stephen Kenny
The Hon Steph Key MPMs Mary KostakidisAssoc Prof Helga Kuhse
Coral Levett MacnThe Hon Anne LevyMr Ian MacPhee AO
Prof Marion MaddoxMrs Eve Mahlab AOMr Paul McDermott
Mr Lindsay McDougallMs Judith McGrathProf Peter McIntyre AO
Emeritus Prof Carmel McNaughtMs Hilary McPhee AOJudge Ronald Merkel QC
Mr Gordon Moffatt AMProf Rob Moodie AOMr Val Morgan
Miss Amy OrangeAssoc Prof Neville PammentProf Malcolm Parker
Mr Mark ParnellHon Tom Pauling AO QCMr Kirk Pengilly
Mr Frank PenhalluriackMr Marshall PerronProf Peter Pierce
Mrs Rae PierceMr Adrian PriceMr Chris Puplick AM
Rev Kenneth RalphMr Bill RichmondMr Robert Richter QC
Rev Christopher N RidingsMr Roland RocchiccioliProf Doreen Rosenthal AO
Dr Harry Rundle FRACS FRCS FRCSEProf Rick SarreThe Hon Chris Schacht
Prof Peter Singer ACMr Dick Smith AOMr Jim Soorley
Prof John SpicerMs Tracey SpicerDr John Stanton
Ms Anne Summers AODr Rodney SymeMr John Valder AO
Ms Lesley VickProf Merrilyn Walton AMDr Bruce Watson
Prof George WilliamsProf John WilloughbyMr Ian Wood
Close Menu